Sunday, June 26, 2011

Telecommunication board information and member list as of June 2011, according to the list on the city Web site

Telecommunications Board

The Telecommunications Board, formerly known as the Cable Board, was created by City Ordinance No. 3549 on May 21, 1991.  On February 1, 2000, the Cable Board was renamed Telecommunications Board by Ordinance No. 4219.  On July 15, 2003, Ordinance No. 4504 was created to redefine the composition, officers, staffing, procedures, and the duties of the Board.  The purpose of the Telecommunications Board is to advise the City Council on telecommunication issues and to coordinate and oversee telecommunications franchise systems and use of the public rights of way designated for public access, educational, and governmental (PEG) use in the City of Fayetteville as part of the City’s telecommunication infrastructure.


Lindsley Smith, (479) 575-8330


Staggered four-year terms.


 The Board shall be composed of seven members as follows:
  • Seven members from the public-at-large with experience in any one of the following areas:
    Telecommunications infrastructure management, public policy development regarding communication and telecommunications issues, television, or other appropriate expertise. Members shall be registered voters and residents of the City of Fayetteville, and shall have resided therein for at least six months prior to their appointment.


Vacancies on the Board are filled by appointment from the governing body of the City.

Public Notification

 A weekly meetings list is prepared by the City Clerk’s office which is distributed to the press and posted on the City’s web site:

Meeting Times

Regular meetings are held the third Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in Room 219 of the City Administration Building.

City of Fayetteville Appointees

Position Name Address Phone Terms
Chairman  Aubrey Shepherd 1101 S. Duncan Ave., Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 444-6072 01/01/2008 thru 06/30/2013
Vice Chairman Blake Pennington 927 N. Hall Ave., Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 430-1221 07/01/2010 thru 06/30/2014

Michael Ehrig 2007 W. Custer Lane, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 521-4420 07/01/2011 thru 06/30/2015

Michael Spencer 2456 N. Southwick Dr., Fayetteville, AR 72704 (202) 713-5480 01/01/2011 thru 06/30/2013

Mike Russell 1303 E. Joyce Blvd., Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 871-0975 07/01/2009 thru 06/30/2014

Russ Davis 1155 E. Rolling Hills Drive, Fayetteville, AR 72703 (479) 236-0453 01/01/2011 thru 06/30/2013

Stephen Smith 340 N. Rollston, Fayetteville, AR 72701 (479) 409-7842 07/01/2011 thru 06/30/2015

No comments: